Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nobody would dispute the fact that some teenagers spend most of their leisure time on their gadgets, and their behaviours no doubt influenced due to some reasons. In my opinion, while smart devices could provide benefits to our life, I believe it is prominent not to overuse it. To commence with, there are a range of reasons why modern children attach most of their time on smartphones. Firstly, modern parents are either over protective or too lenient to their kids. For some reason, they intend to use smart gadgets to attract young teenagers to stay home due to the concern of safety. Secondly, due to the technology advancement we have, youngest can access to thousands of millions information by browsing through search engine. It can allows them to self-taught every skills they need to be prepared in both professional private life. Lastly, it could be dangerous to play outside compared to the years back in 90’s. In my perspective, although they are quite a number of benefits from using smartphones, but I believe it is a negative development by far. Firstly, teenagers who spend most of their leisure time on smart devices, for example like iPad, might not have good interpersonal skills. They tend to have introvert personalities, because they did not have time to meet new people in real life. Secondly, information they received online might not be true, due to there are uncountable scammers out there and it is impossible to filter them out in one setting. Lastly, immature kids are more likely to perceive bad influences on social media, which involves illegal activities. In conclusion, it can therefore be argued that we live in a technology era which there will be more technology invented in the future, but we need to learn how to differentiate right from wrong from the information we perceive online.