Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The environmental problem indeed needs the utmost attention. Some think that increasing fuel prices for transportation can be the most efficient solution to tackling the environmental problem. I strongly disagree with that notion, I believe that there is another option that can be more effective than to rise the cost of fuel. This essay will elaborate on my standpoint thoroughly with the following evidence. To commence with, it is unarguable that the emission of vehicles brings myriad pollution, especially to the air quality. Hence, some people think the idea of increasing the cost of fuel will deliberately persuade people to consider leaving the use of private vehicles for public transportation. However, that notion proved ineffective to tackle environmental problems. Take Indonesia for an instance, the government has implemented the idea of raising fuel prices which depicted the results that people still insist on using private transportation rather than public vehicle. Thus, there is no reduction in the number of active transportation, in other words, there is no pollution depletion occurred. In addition, there is another solution that is possibly effective to solve the environmental problem which is improving the quality of public vehicles. Instead of increasing fuel prices, the government should pay attention to developing public transportation which is the main reason why the public is most likely avoid to using it. Take Singapore as an example, the massive development and advancement in public transportation such as MRT and LRT is an inevitable success in persuading every resident to utilize that public transportation rather than a private car. As a result, the quality of air in Singapore is improved compared to Indonesia which still lacks of public transportation. In conclusion, it is valid that the numerous active transportation, especially private vehicles is being the cause of the environmental problem that emerged. Thus, the government will deliberately concern about how to decrease the number of vehicles. Although increasing the fuel rate is believed can be effective to solve environmental pollution, focusing more on developing sophisticated vehicles is profoundly effective to attract people to switch their transportation modes. In other words, it can reduce a lot of private car use which can help to solve environmental pollution.