Some people believe that humans should be able to use animals for their own benefit while others argue that the rights of animals should be protected. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the world of today people tend to use animals in various ways no matter how cruel they are: for food in farming, for experiments in science, or for entertainment like hunting or zoos. Many activists around the world are against this atrocity. They are fighting for equality between humans and living creatures. In my opinion, they are doing the right thing. In the first place, it is worth mentioning that at the very beginning before being captivated all the animals were born free and nobody gave a human the right to predominate over other life forms. So, why did certain individuals decide that they could make it in their favour? Apart from this, scientists have proved the fact that animals can feel pain. Therefore, it must be incredibly violent to use them in medical research or cosmetology testing. Opponents of this view say that no medical breakthrough would have been possible if the animals had not been chosen as test subjects. They support their idea with numerous cures that have been produced owing to the usage of our little friends. Moreover, the adherents of this belief emphasize the significance of consumption of animal food drawing our attention to the adequate and well-balanced diet, which can be attained only by supplementing the nutrition with meat. Taking everything into account, it seems to me that mankind should reconsider their attitude to the fauna and the way they treat it. I strongly believe that only the creator of everything and everybody – the God – can give and take lives but not the one from the crowd who considers himself or herself to be the dominant.