Social media sites have allowed individuals to connect with each other, share their experiences, and express their opinions. However, possible employers can also access these pages when making a hiring decision. Do you think information shared on a social media site should be taken into account when hiring people?

Whether private perspectives posted on cyberspace should be considered while hiring or not is a contentious issue in modern society. Some people claim that it is necessary to examine candidates’ cyberspace before they get employed. I buttress this idea because of an intensive understanding and the industrial network. Foremost, accessing the personal blog or website is advantageous because employers can reap the benefits of understanding who the person really is. In particular, by acquiring the information of their own perspectives, which is hardly seen in job interviews, it becomes easier to select an optimal worker for a company among numerous candidates. For example, Google opts to investigate each candidate’s post on Facebook to judge whether this person has an acceptable view to work in a certain department or not in advance. Eventually, Google prolonged its harmonized organizational culture consisting of suitable employees. Hence, it is evident that considering social media as a reference is required with the advantages of finding workers properly. In addition, it is undeniable that job candidates are able to build a network with owners in a field by revealing their opinions on the Internet. As someone is connected with headhunters, there is the potential to be chosen by a familiar online owner when a new hiring announcement is opened. LinkedIn, for example, is a global website for users to stress not only their thoughts but also their CVs and skills. This type of social media enables people to obtain job opportunities more easily by forming industrial relationships. Therefore, both owners and workers have advantages in expanding the scope of human resources. To sum up, looking at one’s online post is acceptable while hiring because owners are able to comprehend someone’s personality deeply which is fit and both sides can establish a connection in one’s career for the future. For these reasons, I am of the view that personal data on the Internet should be allowed to utilize in a hiring process.