To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

As the number of people in our planet continuous to incline, the demands for food goes on the same pattern as well. Some individual give the opinion of including insects as one source of food but others find it not only unhealthy but as will as has a negative impact in the environment. Nowadays, the growing demands to find another food source is becoming rampant as the number of people continuous to increase. One way to answer it is that insects are being considered to consume on the table. Although, insects are already part of the human’s food chain, it is still questionable how edible it can be and safe to eat. Some people believe that it can bring harm to the overall health of an individual when consumed. Snails for example, carries numerous micro-sized parasitic worms that when eaten, it can travel up to the person’s brain that can be very detrimental and soon will lead to death. Another issue is of insects were to be consumed it will greatly affect the balance between nature and human being. For an instance, bees. Bees have a vital role in pollination that is very crucial for the production of fruits, vegetables as well as maintaining the temperature of a certain place. If bees will be dedicated for humans to be consumed, no other insects can fulfill their roles in the environment. It can be one answer for food scarcity but finding a solution for one problem might open a new dilemma. To conclude, the suggestion for making insects as one of the food sources as answer food shortage is a topic with still a long way discussion. It may have considered as an answer but various considerations have to take upon to before accepting this as a resolution.