Some people believe that smartphones are destroying social interactions today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays everyone who has the age to have a mobile has one. Because with a phone it is easier to communicate and find information online. For this reason, some believe that they are destroying social interactions. Nevertheless, others consider that we should have this kind of technology to get more interaction in our lives. In this essay, I am going to explain why I agree with the first statement. To begin with, most of the people who can access cell phones are using them all the time. Even when they are with their friends or family, they are always doing something with them and forget to talk with people. For example, last week I went to have dinner with my colleagues and after we ordered food, everybody was checking their phones and not talking to each other. If no one gets a smartphone, this will never happen. For this reason, we must stop using them all the time. In addition, not using technology during our holidays can be good to meet new people. Especially, when we are going to the visitor centre to get information instead of looking online. For instance, one day when I was travelling in New Zealand I did not have reception, so I went to the information office to find all I needed. As a result, in this place, I made new friends and good advice about what I have to visit. Consequently, we cannot find everything on mobile. To sum up, talking and meeting new people is very important for our well-being. I strongly believe that we must drop our smartphones and start to interact around us.