Many criminals re-offend after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In recent times, the criminal re-offend rate is very alarming and specialists are trying to find out a considerable solution to this problem. This essay will explore the causes of criminal re-offend as well as the plausible solution to it. Correction of criminals is one of the challenging tasks of the modern age as the ever-increasing crime rate disturbs the harmony of society. Although there are plenty of correctional homes, a significant number of criminals are involved in crimes after releasing from jail. The primary reason is most correctional homes focus on punishing offenders rather than correcting their mistakes. They sentence criminals for a certain period of time however, ignore what aspects of their characteristics are responsible for their crimes. Therefore, criminals still bear the same mentality of crime when they even release from jail. The secondary reason is there are not enough employment opportunities for criminals. As a result, a number of criminals while set free from jail again engage in crime for their survival. There are several measures that can be taken to manage criminal re-offend. First of all, prison should be aimed at not only punishing criminals but also trying to bring them into normal life. For example, giving them proper counselling to change their behaviour and thoughts or engaging them in creative or humanitarian tasks inside the prison with proper supervision and guidelines. These would help them to change their criminal mindsets. Secondly, creating opportunities for employment for criminals, so they do not involve in further crime after release. Most importantly, society should accept criminals as human beings and should hate crimes instead of criminals. Otherwise, when the criminal realizes that society does not accept him, out of aggression there are chances of further criminal involvement. To conclude, criminals should be treated as human beings and to stop the crime rate people and the authority should change their mindset towards criminals.