Write about the following topic: Some people think that university should not provide theoretical knowledge, but give practical training that is beneficial to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is common that some people reckon that colleges shouldn't provide theoretical knowledge. However, they suppose that giving some practical training is conducive to society. To some extent, I deny this perspective. In general, the rationality of supporting not only practical training but also theoretical knowledge for university students is attributed to two major factors, accumulating the basic information and paving the road for career prospects. For one thing, it is a common case that there are a large number of basic concepts and theories in a series of fields for every college student, which are fundamental tools to tackle some complex issues. For instance, scientists can get a better understanding of lots of information regarding mathematics, substances as well as space, stars, and so on so as to do a large number of experiences and make considerable efforts for this society and era. For another thing, the driving force behind is that career path. Specifically, for the majority of college students, their majors are related to future jobs. They need to learn theoretical knowledge systematically provided by professors. As a result, knowledge can be utilized by students in future work. Despite that, the value of providing theoretical knowledge would be discounted by its deficiency (teaching methods sometimes are quite rigid for part of professors). To be more specific, Many professors teach concepts and theories, which is just like reciting the knowledge rather than analyzing and showing how knowledge comes from. Consequently, the sense of boredom strongly brings to the students, especially some lazy students. Provided that universities can combine with introducing innovative teaching methods and providing practical training and experiences, nevertheless, such adverse impacts, tend to be ameliorated. As indicated above, it is therefore reasonable that universities should provide theoretical knowledge in addition to giving practical training that is beneficial to society, although there are some minor negative aspects in professors ' teaching ways.