The older generations tend to have very traditional ideas about how people should live, think and behave. However, some people believe that these ideas are not helpful in preparing younger generations for modern life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

In recent years, a debate regarding some traditional concepts of life has emerged. In particular, some people argue that older generation’s ideas are no more useful in the modern day world. I think that this is partially true, because the modern day society has seen a lot of changes. In this essay, a brief explanation of this debate and opinion will be given. It is undoubtedly true that some ideas can be benefical for preparing young generations as they were in past years. In fact, many situations in life can be different nowadays, but the concept behind them is the same as in the past. For example, some old advices on how to behave in certain situations or how to evaluate some important decisions in life can be used now, adapted to specific situations. This decisions, such as continuing the studies or proposing after engagement,now have more possible answers, but the approach to the them is the same as it was in the past. Given all this, it is not entierly inaccurate to state that traditional ideas can be useful. On the other hand, world and society have changed so much in recent years that some old opinions are now totally inaccurate. For instance, the new felxible work market, with shorter contracts and the possibility of remote work, made the old idea of finding a workplace after graduation that will be retained for all life not only inaccurate, but also mislead new workers that now have more opportunities of devolping their careers horizontally. In addition, some other way of living are now surpassed such as the idea of marriage as only way to form a family. In conclusion, I think that traditional ways of living could be helpful only if accurately selected and adapted to the new situations. As stated above, while some istances could be similar on a more fundamental level, others are too different or compleatly new. For this reasons traditional ideas should be selecet select, because a wrong advice can be detrimental to a younger approaching the world.