The preventing and reducing global environmental damage lies with politicians, as there are very little the individuals can do about this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global warming and environmental protection are one of the most concerning and challenging topics discussed today and the government plays a key role in preventing and minimising the damage on a global scale. It is commonly considered by many that there is very little one can do to address this issue. In my opinion, every small steps matter and each individual is responsible for protecting the environment. The very first step starts from our homes. We should reduce the wastage of natural resources. Water should be used only in required quantities. Avoid buying multiple unnecessary electronic devices. This helps reduce e-waste generated which is hard to dispose of. People should switch to biodegradable products and avoid plastics wherever possible. People with land can also build compost for food waste. Moreover, walking short distances instead of taking cars also contributes a lot to reducing carbon emissions. Nowadays, there are a lot of initiatives taken which are environment friendly. For example. some shops charge people for every carry bag they provide, forcing the customers to bring their own bags. Steel straws are being widely promoted, to reduce plastic and paper straws. Additionally, paperless transactions are being widely preferred over bills and receipts. In conclusion, it is the duty of both society and the government to take action and preserve our nature. Afforestation must be promoted. Awareness campaigns and education reforms should be conducted more often regarding waste management and reuse. Governments must ensure strict rules regarding environmental protection are not just made but also carried out.