You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages? You should write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary world, owing to the development of trading routes between international countries, even most food items are being exported and imported between distant places. Few people believe that the consumption of domestic food is much more economical and eco-friendly as compared to importing foreign items. In my opinion, there are more benefits than drawbacks to following the above practice. There are numerous advantages and the most significant among them is supplementing food to nations where not all species of plants can be grown. Moreover, in a few,countries land is not suitable for agriculture because of this they are extremely dependent on the neighbouring states to provide them with staple food to feed the public. For example, In Egypt, most of the terrain is a desert area with negligible chances of growing any crop. Consequently, they are extremely dependent on India to supply them with wheat. Another benefit is the trading dependency between the nations improves their relationships so that no major conflicts arise. Finally, a myriad of people migrating to places that are different from their origin of birth in order to settle down. Therefore, this practice helps such people not miss their homegrown products. The two major drawbacks are shipping these products involves huge expenses and environmental contamination. First and foremost, trading cost involves labour and fuel for both import and export as well as the damaged products. Thus, the consumer has to purchase them for a much higher price than the actual production cost. On top of it, in the process of,transportation a large volume of fuel is consumed that emits harmful gasses like carbon dioxide into the environment leading to air pollution along with the depletion of natural resources. To conclude, although the merits outweigh the demerits, it is essential to consider the fact about the end consumer who bears the burden and becomes a victim of environmental pollution. So, governing authorities must take necessary measures to control these factors so that effective trading can happen.