Problem: International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local habitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

In some modern countries, international tourism has been under the spotlight for a while with an ongoing debate over whether it would exert more positive or negative impacts on local residents and the environment. In my opinion, international tourism would definitely bring more favourable results to some extent. When we give a first glimpse into this issue, we could find the progress of tourism usually comes with the cost of environmental pollution. To be more precise, with the explosion of foreign tourists, the number of airlines and long-distance bus schedules would inevitably surge. This trend could generate more gas emissions which would reverse the sustainable development of the local environment, consequently incurring more respiratory diseases in the locals including cough and pneumonia. In particular, some countries famous for their spectacular scenery yet with fragile natural environments, like Tibet in China, are vulnerable to air and water contamination. Therefore, the natural habitats of wild animals and the living environment of locals would be devastated as soon as the invasion of environmentally unconscious travellers. However, when we look at it deeply, we can notice that it is obvious that developing international tourism would lead to an adverse environment as well as growth in the local economy. To illustrate, the tourism industry can provide a great number of job opportunities associated with the hospitality and transportation sectors, further helping to alleviate the poverty in the region to some extent. Meanwhile, for the purpose of promoting the national image and attracting more foreign travellers, the local government has to invest more budget on sewage disposition and environmental protection. Under this circumstance, local pollution would be considerably reduced compared with other countries which fail to recognize the importance of international tourism. In conclusion, the assertion that international tourism has more deficiencies is too hasty, which totally ignores its significance in economic development and natural preservation. Hence, we should put more emphasis on this promising industry and take advantage rather than abandon it.