Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, governments of many countries invest money on developing railways and roads. However, some people believe that more money should spend on railways. I believe that, this expenses should be utilised based on the requirment requirements of the public transportation, because in some countries' roads require more renovations, while some in need of railways. In terms of trains, it cost comparatively larger amount of money and human power to build tracks and platforms. However, the percentage that benefited from trains depends on the country and the situation. For example, many developed contries have spent a lot of money on modern trains and lines as many travels longer distance for work. Hence, it is required higher costs to maintain the facility. On the other hand, money should be spend on roads in order to facilitate short distance travellers as well. For an instance, Sri Lanka experience high volume of traffic because of bad road conditions, poor traffic systems etc. Compared to the railway system, Sri Lankans travel in buses, personal vehicles, bicycles etc, while roads are in bad conditions. To overcome this, more money should be spent on developing roads than on railways. To conclude, money in a country should be well spent on based on its requirment in public transportation as its a controversal aspect in a country.