In the future people will not need to have schools, galleries, museums or libraries because everything from education to culture and entertainment will be available online. Do you agree or disagree?

It’s considered by some that physical embodiment of culture and knowledge such as museums, galleries or libraries are standing on the edge of extinction in front of the internet with unlimited access to all information. I completely disagree with this statement, it’s naive to think that mankind does not need a reality anymore. The Internet can’t completely replace the world, people are sociable creatures with a demand to counteract each other. The story of the COVID pandemic is the brightest example here. Lockdown during the first several months of 2020 showed us the power of those days' technologies and the ability to live without even a need to go out of an apartment. But, on the other hand, it was obvious, how much we depend on each other and all the social institutions and physical facilities. I remember that feeling of loss and frustration during those months of loneliness and understanding that the internet can not be streets full of crowds or university halls and buzzing cafes. In addition, modern technologies are simply tools, which help people to be more productive, learn more and be effective, but they can not imitate real social interactions, behaviour, and feelings in a way people perceive them truly. The Internet can’t make someone feels like standing on the top of the Eiffel Tower or in a modern library, even with all the panoramas and articles about the place. In conclusion, human life with all its complexity and amazing adventures, and explorations can not be put inside a computer. It has much more than just plain pictures and articles. That’s why such facilities as museums, galleries or schools are an integral part of everyday life and people themselves.