Shops should not be allowed to sell food and drinks tha are scientifically proven to be bad for people's health. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, a debate regarding the sale of unhealthy food and drinks has emerged. In particular, some people argue that shops should not trade groceries that are proven to hurt health. In my opinion, this view is partially agreeable, but it should be implemented in another way. In this essay, a brief explanation of the argument will be given. It is undoubtedly true that decreasing the diffusion of health-detrimental products could have positive results for all of society and that stores can play a key role in trying to do so. In fact, some research suggests that the second cause of heart illnesses, after smoking, is a bad diet. Moreover, many other diseases are directly or indirectly related to wrong alimentary habits, and the more a population is ill, the more it needs cures. For this reason, prohibiting their sale could not only improve public health but also reduce state expenditure on health services. Furthermore, the majority of these products are placed in the market through shops, so impeding their distribution could effectively stop them. For this reason, it is not entirely inaccurate to propose a ban on non-healthy food and drinks from shops. On the other hand, imposing this policy could have some negative aspects that should be taken into account. First of all, people should be allowed to decide for themselves, without governments imposing on what they should eat. In addition to that, the targeted groceries if consumed in moderate quantities have little to no effect on people's well-being, whereas some other legal items such as tobacco or alcohol are dangerous in every form. Finally, the economical burden of the proposed manoeuver would affect only the shops, which will be financially damaged for something the wrong decision of the population, which will be extremely unjust. In conclusion, I think that while it is true that something should be done to decrease the consumption of unhealthy food, disallowing their sale in shops is not the solution. As stated above, there are a series of economical and moral aspects that could outweigh the advantages of the policy proposed. In fact, there are some better alternatives, such as artificially increasing the price of the targeted items.