Many people go through life doing work that they hate or have no talent for. Why does this happen? What are the consequences of this situation?

In this fast-paced, society it often happens that people are forced into careers due to circumstances. One cannot deny that there is a large number of individuals that work in occupations that they do not enjoy or that they are not very good at. This ultimately has consequences on their mental well-being and a nation's economic development. One of the main reasons for individuals not making an accurate choice of careers is because there is a lack of career advice at the school level. Students often complete their GCSE exams and move on to college or sixth form without having a clear idea of what career options they are interested in pursuing. In other words, they are just doing something for the sake of it. The Guardian’s survey in 2021 on Secondary School leavers showed that 83% of students did not know for certain what career they wanted to pursue. In addition, 66% of students admitted that they were happy to accept any job based on a good salary and fair hours regardless of whether they had appropriate skills for the job. These research outcomes indicate that people are not doing due diligence in choosing suitable occupations. The consequence of this is that we risk having a middle-aged population suffering from mental health issues such as depression, addiction and anxiety. Furthermore, these conditions will have an effect on productivity in the workforce and will ultimately affect the economy. Mental health issues will also have a negative result on home life and families which could also lead to suicide. The latest census data showed that suicide linked to depression and anxiety had increased by 17%. In conclusion, it is essential for people to be happy and fulfilled in the work they do in order to live full and happy lives which leads to a positive environment for all.