In some countries children have very strict rules of behaviour, while in other countries they are allowed to do almost anything they want. To what extent should children have to follow rules? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

While some nations do not have any kind of behavioural restrictions on what a child can do and they are encouraged to behave independently, whereas, a few other nations are very intolerant about it and have strict regulations put in place. In my opinion, they must be nurtured in an environment with a proper set of principles and guidelines for their good upbringing, however, they should be given some freedom to explore different aspects as well. One of the prominent reasons is, children at a very tender age are often inquisitive about various things they hear or observe, however, it is the responsibility of parents to inculcate their good qualities up to the time they reach a level of maturity to decide by themselves. Otherwise, they get vulnerable to bad elements in society and put themselves in trouble. For instance, kids play plenty of online games using technical gadgets and sometimes could encounter gambling games, nevertheless, they do not realize such games must be avoided. With the help of parental controls, one can limit what a child can do with these gadgets. Thus, they can be protected from such elements. Another point to consider is that parents should not control children in every aspect because this can limit their potential to explore different things in life. They should be allowed to find their own interests when it comes to things like sports, education and food. For example, some kids enjoy playing sports rather than studying. So, they need to be permitted to spend focusing on sports because they might end up making a career in that profession. Sometimes, they may make a few mistakes and learn from those experiences. Hence, they should be given some independence to make their own choices, especially, the ones that do not harm them. In conclusion, a protective environment should be provided for children to grow in order to avoid problems. Moreover, they should also have enough liberty to experience and comprehend what is best suited for them as long as they do not get themselves into negative influences.