Some people think that the government should establish free libraries in each town. Others, however, believe that it is a waste of money since the public can use the Internet at home to obtain information. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

In the present world, society has become more inclined towards reading on the internet as compared to the past when most folks read books and magazines in the physical format. It is a difficult decision for the governments to take whether to establish free libraries in each town or not. I will discuss both sides of the argument and give my opinion on the same. Firstly, the previous generations still prefer to read actual books and articles as they are less accustomed to the internet. Moreover, there is a huge number of reading material that is not yet available on the internet. To read such material one has to go to public libraries. Also, public libraries hold a lot of dated newspapers and historic articles that are great for researchers. On the other hand, the internet is available at the fingertips of consumers. Younger folks prefer the internet for reading as it is time-saving and is overall a less headache to search for any material the readers are looking for. A library might not have what a reader is looking for, so in that case, commuting to a library, spending hours looking for the reading material and coming home empty-handed is very depressing. Finally, I think the government should not establish free libraries in each town because society as a whole now prefers a laid-back approach to almost anything. If something can be achieved sitting at home, it's highly unlikely that someone would disturb their routine and travel to get it.