Many museums and historical sites are mostly visited by foreign tourists, but not by local people. Why do you think it happens? What can be done to attract local people to these sites?

Today the most popular holiday pastime is definitely going abroad in order to visit places of interest, museums and art galleries. This way of spending a vacation has already become a stereotype and as a,result it looks quite strange when local people go sightseeing in the historical downtown or order an excursion in the museum. One of the reasons why it happens is probably education. For example, you will not choose to spend your day off going somewhere you already were while studying at school, or preparing a class project. It happens because most schools organize excursions to the local museums, galleries and historical sites as part of the curriculum. So for the students who then become adults and can plan their rest themselves this holiday scenario looks boring whereas going abroad seems more tempting and a novice experience. Another reason is money. The majority of the middle class saves money to go on a holiday or just go away for the weekend and it is preferable to go out of the hometown for this purpose because this way the person can get a unique experience worth paying for that is not available at home. People are ready to pay more for exciting memories and photos which they can share with family and friends afterwards. On the other hand, visiting local places of interest can also be attractive. This activity has a lot of advantages: it is cheaper than visiting another country as you don't spend money on flights and hotels, it is not tiresome as you can always stop your excursion and return back to your dwelling, moreover, it is much easier to plan. In my opinion, municipalities should take action in order to attract their population to their historical sites. The easiest way to encourage people to start visiting museums or other places of interest is to reduce the entrance fees for the locals. To sum up, seeing the sites in the hometown can be a wonderful alternative to going abroad and urban authorities should launch programmes to attract local dwellers rather than only foreign tourists.