These days, more and more people are going to other countries for significant periods, either to find a job or to study. There are many benefits to doing this, but people living abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Travelling to a completely different country can have several positive or negative outcomes. Nonetheless, in recent times, many people are leaving their homelands to other nations to start a new work or to enrol in universities. The advantages of this are, the opportunity to improve living conditions and the exposure to a new way of life. However, this can also have downsides like, estrangement of relationships and feelings of loneliness. It is possible to have access to a better standard of life. This is because moving to a new place can mean access to everything good that exists there including the facilities which could surpass what lies back at home. Also, it is possible to have enough cultural exposure by living and learning in a foreign condition. This is because when one is fully immersed in a new environment adaptation could result in the subconscious learning of how things are done. For instance, after spending six years in Russia, I had great command of the language. In contrast, it can hinder the relationships among family and friends. This is true because moving miles away from home, will make it almost impossible to always visit those we love and maintain contact, again there could also be the problem of time zones that could make it difficult to keep to scheduled calls. In addition, people like this, can end up feeling alone because it takes some time to adapt and in that period where they are adjusting to life around, they may not have their usual support system of friends to make life more joyful. A perfect illustration was when I was in Russia, I fell into depression multiple times because I lived alone and was not used to it. In conclusion,the migration to a different country, can usher people into greener pastures and give them enough cultural exchange but on the downside, it could make close friends become strangers and could make people end up as loners in their new cities.