In the last 20 years there have been significant developments in the field of information technology (IT), for example the World Wide Web and communication by email. However, future developments in IT are likely to have more negative effects than positive. To what extent do you agree with this view?

The last two decades have seen a remarkable revolution from industrialization to technology such as the world wide web and email service. Even though IT advances have brought enormous benefits to the world, I strongly believe that this trend will result in massive negative impacts than positive unless we set particular laws that limits the right of it. First and foremost, we are the generation who is fortunate enough to feel numerous advantages from the IT era. Web means that information on every conceivable subject is now available to us. Therefore, email has made communication, especially abroad, much simpler and faster. This has resulted in many benefits for business and education as there is no need to wait weeks for letters or take time sending faxes, which was the case in the past. For instance, these days many adolescents send their applications to the most popular foreign universities web sites and contacting with their administrators through Gmail to get a better degree. The advantage of the internet has been giving us the chance to be proficient in any industry while expanding our knowledge. Secondly, we must mention the disadvantage of IT which relates to our future life. The effects of this new technology have not all been beneficial. The large size of the web has meant that it is nearly impossible to regulate and control. Furthermore, social media is forming a new type of crime which threats innocent people via online. As proof, countless K-pop idols have been suffering and attempting suicide due to commination such as hateful comments and threatening messages from anti-fans who are against them. Currently, there is no law for this kind of issue in most countries and this could result in a decline in people’s mental health and life expectancy. To conclude, developments in IT have brought many benefits, yet I believe that these are outweighed by the drawbacks. In the future, these will need to be addressed if we are to avoid damaging impacts on individuals.