E-mail has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive.

Electronic mail in both professional and social environments has over the past two decades provided an array of benefits. However, there are some arguments that email has introduced more negative effects. While there are obvious downsides, I believe that email has provided more advantages. Electronic mail services have provided considerable benefits. To begin, an argument in favour is the sheer speed of using email. A common example is when we want to send a message with an attachment or scanned item, the recipient can receive the message is sometimes a matter of seconds in any global location. A further benefit is a convenience. To illustrate this point, emails can be sent anywhere from full-service airlines at 38,000 feet to even the remotest locations off the beaten path with the slightest of ease. In spite of these positive effects, there are apparent downsides. One objection to using emails is that computer viruses can play havoc with information technology systems. Important documents and financial accounts can be accessed and compromised by highly sophisticated hackers, which is a widespread global issue. Another hazard is the risk of scams. These days, the sheer volume of international scammers and scamming organizations working from multinational calling centres and from,backyard setups have led to a massive global increase in fraudulent activities often targeting the weak and vulnerable. In brief, there are both obvious positive and negative effects of using electronic mail. Having discussed both views, it is clearly evident that the positive aspects clearly outweigh any negatives. Indeed, if email platforms ceased to exist, our modern means of communication would be severely hampered.