Some people believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to look after themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ageing is one of the inevitable difficult parts of life which must be experienced by every human being in the world. Due to the advancement of the medical field, life expectancy has been raised gradually in many countries in the world including developing countries. But unfortunately, caring for the elderly population is becoming a huge problem in every corner of the globe. when people are getting old, they tend to develop non-communicable diseases such as diabetes, hypertension and heart disease. Moreover, ageing will lead to memory impairment and they become dependent on others not only for their physical needs but also for psychological support as well as finance. Actually, the young generation of each family should care about the senior citizens of their family. However, in this modern world, most seniors are neglected by their offspring due to several reasons. Many decades ago, there was a thick bond among blood relations which connected each member in many aspects. people lived in extended families rather than nuclear households. This strong bond protected the geriatric population very well. In contrast, nowadays, households are scattered and each member acts individually. Parents and grandparents are not spending adequate time with their children and grandchildren due to the busy schedules of their jobs. Therefore, the relationship is split which pushes the senior citizens to a bizarre living in the latter part of life. Most of the ageing population is looked after by elders' homes or community centres. Some people still believe that the youngsters of each generation should take responsibility to look after their seniors and legislation should be made to ensure the safety of seniors. However, it carries a lot of pros and cons. But I believe that making good relationships among family members will teach the younger generation how to care for their parents and grandparents rather than making rules.