death penality is best way to control and reduce serious crime to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the years the use of death penalty in administering punishment for serious crime has been considered the most appropriate method in curbing and decreasing the rate of these crimes. With progress in the development of humans, some school of thought question if it is really the best option for mitigating serious crime. I agree with this group as i do not think that death penalty is the perfect method for controlling and reducing serious crime. Firstly, death penalty offers no room for rehabilitation in the person who has been found guilty for a serious crime. Convicts of these crimes may be able to turn on new leaves after proper training and help has been offered to them. With adequate assistance these group of people may become useful to the government by using their abilities for a better cause. Also in the case of wrong accusations and wrong verdicts, a death penalty would have caused an unwarranted loss of life which is irreversible as have been documented in times past. But if other types of punishment are used, it may prevent this undesirable effect. To conclude, i am of the opinion that the use of death penalty in curbing serious crime is not the best method. Other types of punishment should be considered.