Young people are now spending more and more time and money following fashion trends. What is your opinion? Is this a postive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over whether current teenagers are spending most of their time and money to follow fashion trends. While this phenomenon has both pros and cons, I think its advantages may outweigh its counterparts. Without a shadow of a doubt, pursuing novel styles brings about myriads of tremendous benefits. One of them is making adolescents less outdated and they can express their status and wealth. For example, fashion trends on Tiktok, a practically famous social network utilized by almost all young people in the world, are globally followed by an eclectic mix of users. By doing so, those people can not only be more fashionable and advanced, but also show off their affluence. Hence, following fashion trends is beneficial to young people nowadays. While the redeeming features of fashion trend pursuit are widely acknowledged, its drawbacks still exist. On the grounds that garments can cause alarming environmental problems since they are non- biodegradable plastic wastes. Therefore, the environment is totally contaminated. For instance, prestigious fashion brands such as Gucci or Dior discharge a great deal of this type of garbage on a daily basis, which greatly does harm to the surrounding. Thus, the disadvantages of fashion trends still happen. To sum up, fashion trends are satisfactory because they can help people show their statuses and keep up with the time. However, it is hard to deny that they have a wide range of downsides given the fact that pieces of garment are seriously damaging the ecosystem.