Each year, the crime rate increase. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity.

More and more crimes are committed every year all around the world. The reasons for such a rise are diverse, though the main ones are economic and social. It is mainly the concern of the government to stop people from becoming criminals. To begin with, the number of crimes correlates with the socioeconomic situation in the area. It is more likely that a child will grow up as a criminal if he lives in slums in an underdeveloped region, if he does not have access to good education and if his parents are compelled to work overtime at expense of the time with their kids to supply their families with basic things like food and clothes. For instance, Mexican slums are notorious for drug dealing, manslaughtering, kidnapping and mugging which makes them an extremely dangerous place to visit. Of course, a child from Mexican slums is more likely to end up in prison than a youngster from a prosperous district somewhere in New York suburbs. Governments throughout the globe are trying to take action to reduce the number of crimes. It can be done on different levels: improving economic conditions on one hand, and, on the other hand, providing social rehabilitation for prisoners. For example, in Israel people who committed different offences and whose penalty is imprisonment have a right to study a university course or take exams to get a matriculation certificate while they are in prison. To sum up, to prevent the increase in criminal activity the authorities should not only provide educational measures, but also improve the living standards of the citizens.