An increasing number of people are changing their job. What do you think are the reason? Do you think it is positive or negative?

In recent years, the job market has seen some major changes. In particular, nowadays more and more people are resigning from their workplaces in search of other opportunities. Personally, I think this can be a positive development. In this essay, a brief explanation regarding the matter will be given. It is undoubtedly that a new way of seeing the work has emerged recently, especially among younger generations. In fact, they are not only looking for jobs, but also for some improved work -life balance. For instance, in a recent survey where the respondents were asked to list the reasons for their resignations, a better work -life balance was put in the first place, followed by the desire of the respondents to pursue real passions. As a consequence, employees will go to some work that guarantees these two requisites. As stated above, there are positive sides to this phenomenon. Firstly, workers can be happier in these new jobs, helping their mental health, hence alleviating stress. At the same time, some studies suggest that the happier the workers are, the more productive they are. For these two reasons, it is not entirely inaccurate to say that this is a positive development. On the other hand, these benefits come at the cost of work security. Seeing great amounts of employees resign, employers are starting to offer short-term contracts, thus hurting the ones who are seeking stable jobs. Moreover, many positions now are suffering from underemployment, because it is difficult to find substitutes with the same expertise as the old staff members. In conclusion, I think that overall this trend is positive. As stated above, happier workers are more productive, and the majority of positions unfilled are the ones which offer terrible work conditions for a low pay. Consequently, the great change of jobs is putting pressure on employers, forcing them to offer better wages and benefits to their employees.