Nowadays many of us prefer to throw damaged things away, whereas in the past people used to repair damaged items and keep them for a long time. Why has this change happened? What are the effects of this change? Give relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It can be witnessed that nowadays some individuals just throw damaged items away rather than repair them like the people in the past. However, several serious factors are blamed for such a problem and some effects of this change should be taken into consideration. Undoubtedly, more and more products are affordable is one of the most contributory factors. specifically, people are being paid higher than they used to, and they naturally do not care about the expenses of buying a new product. on the one hand, with the rapid development of technology and society, the living standard has risen significantly, people are not necessary to fix broken items, because they can totally afford a new one. on the other hand, in some industries and factories, human workers are replaced by technologies and robots gradually in order to boost efficiency and decrease costs. As a result, products are cheaper and more affordable. Furthermore, the quality of products is becoming higher because of the sophisticated machines and equipment. For example, if a phone’s screen is broken, it costs consumers several thousand RMB to fix it but also costs several thousand RMB to buy a new one. That’s why a majority of people reckon that there is no need to repair. Additionally, the mentality of people has changed considerably is another reason that cannot be ignored. That’s because in the past, people just wanted to save money, if an item can be fixed, people would pay for it to repair so that they did not need to cost much money to buy a new piece of items. It means that people used to be money-saving-oriented. Whereas nowadays, people ’s state of mind has adjusted considerably. People just want to gain a sense of experience and enhance their living standards by using some items. For example, a broken and then repaired TV is not as refined as a new one. Thus, people would rather buy a new product, instead of repairing an old one, in other to ensure their living standard. However, some serious and inevitable effects of this change should be taken into consideration. Firstly, it would lead to the waste of resources. Because producing and transporting a number of new products would cause the consumption of resources. Besides, disposing of the waste is a time-wasting and energy-wasting task which also consumes the financial budget. Secondly, some people are more likely to become fickleness and buy meaningless products frequently, focusing on material demanding to satisfy their vanity, rather than paying more attention to their inner thought and the improvement of their own capabilities. In conclusion, although various reasons would lead to a negative trend and affect people ’s daily life, there are diverse measures that can be done to tackle the problem sufficiently, and only in these ways can we leave a better sight in the future.