Some people believe that old buildings should be protected by law. Others, however, think that they should be replaced by new buildings. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In present-day society, many cities face the issue of whether old buildings should be replaced by new buildings or not. As I see it, old buildings should be maintained. Historic buildings certainly have much value in various ways. In the first place, a large number of historic buildings represent specific historical figures or events. To be more exact, if such buildings were razed, there would be no precise representation of the corresponding figures and events anymore. Further, some historic dwellings embody the unique lifestyle of ethnic groups. Without a doubt, it could be an ethnological disaster if these buildings were demolished because of current urban needs. Last but not least, many historic buildings have outstanding aesthetic value. That means any replication can never show the ancient craftsmanship accurately. Surely, due to the rapid increase of urban population, some historic buildings should be knocked down in order to make room for high-rise apartment buildings. Yet a more sensible solution to this problem can be developing urban transport so that people can easily live in nearby suburbs and commute easily every day. To conclude, though old buildings may have occupied a lot of urban space, their value should not be neglected. In light of the above factors, I firmly believe that historic buildings must be looked after by modern cities.