Some people say that the government should spend money on measures to save languages that are used by few speakers, while others believe that it is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Never has the topic concerning cultural inheritance failed to attract the public's attention. However, when it comes to whether minority languages should be protected with the government's revenue, people hold divergent views. From my perspective, even though the expenditure on protecting minority languages might be high, I still contend that the government should take some steps to do so. It is undeniable that putting much money into the protection of languages might not serve its intended purpose but exert some negative repercussions. To begin with, this measure will aggravate the financial burden of the government. The budget of governments is limited and spending a huge amount of money on preserving the languages spoken by fewer people does not seem to be beneficial to the majority. Compared with other issues like education and infrastructure, the funding for saving vanishing languages will be less significant. Apart from this, it is also likely to increase the cost of communication. A variety of languages means more language barriers can be triggered. Since more people are inclined to speak their own language rather than a lingual franca, consequently, communication between people can be much more difficult. They may need to find a translator for global meetings or when they are travelling to another country, which will be extremely inconvenient. Nevertheless, although there are some drawbacks to preserving those languages, the benefits of it cannot be overlooked. Preserving language that is only spoken by a small number of people can alleviate the susceptibility to cultural assimilation. It is generally believed that language is an important part of the uniqueness of culture. On condition that the language is not used by the local people, they have the predisposition to be assimilated by exotic cultures and devoid of cultural identity, which might make cultural diversity disappear soon or later. In addition, this measure is of great educational significance. The minority languages convey the wisdom and knowledge of our ancestors. When they are well-reserved, an increasing number of people will have the opportunity to learn about those languages, which can help them to explore intangible assets such as historical references and scientific research. This would promote the prosperity of diverse cultures and protect the integrity of history. In conclusion, the protection of vanishing buildings will not merely bring some merits or demerits. No matter how many financial resources it will need, it is necessary for the government to put it into practice as soon as possible.