In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case ? Do you think this a positive or negative situation ?

In some countries, it is not common to rent a home, however, it is rather crucial, for citizens of these countries, to own their place for living. In this essay I will argue that the comfort of owning a house or apartament can be the cause of this and add an argument in favor of buying own propery properly. Renting a home does not provide the same level of freedom as an own place does. By being a tenent, it is paramount to adhere to the rules set by the owner. When you violate them it is very likely that the owner will evict you. However, owning an appartment, for example, allows you to rebuild it, change the overall layout of the flat or add specific furniture. Hence, designing it to your taste. Such freedom can be especially importont to some people, which have a very specific way of living influenced by their country’s culture. Then having their own place is crucial for them to feel comfortable. By buying a home, no money are “wasted” on rent. Although renting a place can offer a possibility to relocate to different place, from an economic point of view it is not a good choice. In case of buying a house by taking a mortage, you are also paying monthly payments, nonetheless, you own the place and thus with every payment you lower your debt, but still retain the value in the form of the house, while rent is a pure expense. In conclusion, to have the possibility to recreate own living space to one’s liking is driving people in some countries to possess their own home. What is more, given the financial advantage of buying an own house instead of renting, it is also beneficial for these people.