With the increase of digital media available online the role of the library has become obsolete University should provide digital material rather than textbooks Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view

In the contemporary world, people are engineered by nature and nurture to follow the tracks of technology. Books are being replaced by e- books and online articles. Some people asserts that Universities should supplant hardcopy information with digital materials. It is irrefutable that there are both pros and cons for the this. This essay divulges into the advantages and disadvantages of surging digital media usage before stating an opinion. (1) To commence with the facet of agreement, there is a myriad of things that needs to shared Change the form of the verb share show examples in its favour. Primarily, digital books are much more cheaper and doesnot need additional space for storage unlike the physical ones. Often, textbooks conquer a colossal amount of space. For instance, the library in QUT, in Queensland, occupies four stories which account for more than 3000 square meters. Owing to the high philantrophic investement in creating such as large space, e- books are more convinient. Secondly, Physical books are prone to damage and need replacement more often. On the other hand, e- books can be stored eternally, as a result saves a lots of money. The savings from this can be invested in building better labs and other fcailities in University. For example, it is estimated that each year Universities in Australia spend more than 3 billion dollars in replacing old and damaged books. (8) Shifting towards the second school of thought, digital materials, unless being specific, leads to infobesity in students. This can lead to privation of vital information neccessary for academic as well as professional growth. One such example is the social cognitive theory, which has been interpreted in accordance with the whimps and fancies of the authors, leading to bemusement in health promotion professionals and graduates. Furthermore, e- books needs technology to run its course, which is sometimes not a practical option for developing and under-developed countries. Moreover, long-term usage of e- books can lead to chronic eye disease like the computer vision syndrome, that can permanenty damage the vision acuity of kids. To illustare, each year more than 1 million cases of computer vision syndrome and associated damage are being reported globally due to excessive usage of computer and mobile phones. (6) In conclusion, the two sides of the arguement concerning the prospect of digital media superseding the tradition books have strong support. However, after a thorough analysis of the both sides, I believe that the adavantages of e- books inundate the hardcopy books. (3)