Overpopulation in many major urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this? How can this problem be solved?

The migration of people from rural areas to urban cities around the globe has resulted in a major challenge of overpopulation. This could be a result of poor basic amenities and a lack of employment opportunities, however, financial support from the government and the creation of more multinational firms could mitigate the issue. Firstly, the rural communities are poorly treated and have little or no standard social infrastructures like good roads, schools, power supplies, water and so on, therefore, in the cost of survival and greener pastures, they tend to move to developed areas. More so, communities who run their own little businesses cannot make profits cause facilities like power supply are not available to support their production. Additionally, youths that seek good professions, leave their hometowns and migrate to urban cities for better opportunities. For example, it was reported that ten per cent of the high school leavers left for greener fortunes in Lagos, Nigeria, thus resulting in more traffic congestion in the city of Lagos. Secondly, there is a need for the authorities to plan and establish more sustainable jobs for their citizens in order to reduce the crowds in a particular metropolis. In addition, incentives and standard amenities should be provided to business folks and local farmers in order to encourage more products. For instance, the United States of America made a new rule to always give rewards to their local farmers yearly and establish more industries for the recruitment of their youths in the rural towns and these have reduced the movement of crowds to the urban spaces. In conclusion, the rate of dense populations has been alarming in societies and has created a main challenge due to poor provision of social infrastructures and job creation, meanwhile monetary support from councils and establishing more jobs could tackle the issue faced.