Tourism is becoming a good source of revenue for many countries. Discuss the advantages and the disadvantages of developing this industry.

As governments around the world seek to generate economic growth opportunities, an increasing number of countries are trying to develop their tourism industries. While there are undoubted financial benefits associated with attracting visitors from abroad, it can be a double-edged sword because of the problems linked to an increase in tourists. Regarding the advantages of tourism industries, tourism constitutes a significant proportion of the gross domestic product (GDP). The majority of a country ’s population can be employed in many different places of employment. Profits earned from tourism can be reinvested to the country for developing better infrastructure, education and so on. So tourism and its attraction for visitors can let the country maintain the positive cycle of the country. However, in terms of the disadvantages of tourism industries, environmental damage is the main drawback. When a country has high tourism attractions, an increasing number of tourists will occupy the space. As a result, it will increase traffic congestion and this has a negative effect on the country ’s environment. In addition, we can see the exploitation of culture, also known as the term ‘commercialization’. If we replace our culture with a commodity, we might forget the essence of sacred culture. In conclusion, although there are clear motivations for a country to develop its tourism industries, the drawbacks of such a policy should not be ignored because of the environmental issues and the possibility to destroy the nature of a culture.