Some people say the best way to discourage smoking is to make smoking illegal on public places. Other people say that this is not enough and other measures are needed. Discuss both views and give tour own opinion.

Smoking has become a controversial topic in the present, because of its negative impacts. However, some individuals think that people can be discouraged by making smoking illegal in public areas, whereas others believe it is not enough. In my opinion, extra measures should be taken to discourage smoking. This essay is to discuss about both views and personal view. To begin with, smoking generates an increasing number of drawbacks to consumers and their surroundings. In other words, smoking affects people actively as well as passively. In most countries smoking in public is prohibited to reduce passive effects to non-smoking community, especially pregnant mothers, children and patients. For an instance, if someone caught while consuming a cigarette in a public place in Australia, they will be arrested and charged with serious punishments. In fact, this approach supports to reduce the usage of cigarette in public. However, it is insufficient as people can smoke in their houses,private officers etc.In order reduce this usage there should be more actions such as increase in tax on cigarettes, display consequences of smoking on packages. In terms of taxes, the UK introduced large tax on tobacco products and as a result sales of these products dropped significantly. On the other hand, publishing images on carton of cigarette also a good solution. For example, a famous university in Sri Lanka did a research on advertising negative results of cigarette on its packages, and found out this supported to drop sales within couple of months. To conclude as responsible citizens we should take actions to discourage people from smoking. This cannot be done only by making laws for smoking in public places. Governments should take every possible measures to mitigate this problem immediately.