Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

Illiteracy is a significant and discussable problem that can widely affect people's lives. There seem to be two causes and a number of effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the leading cause is poverty, especially in undeveloped countries. The ever-rising number of poor people could result in the number of illiterates. It means that when families confront financial problems may have to categorize their needs, and their priorities will be food and housing so that they will forebear education. Therefore, their children can be deprived of literacy. A further well-known origin is governments; neglect of illiteracy and its disadvantages. In other words, the reason for inattention may be that governments do not want to dedicate a considerable budget to students; education. As a result, the quality of education at schools and universities will decrease. The effects of this problem on people can be quite serious. Firstly, losing talent and increasing depression are experienced because of a lack of awareness. Indeed, it seems that illiterate people can not identify their aptitudes, so will be felt worthless and depressed. For example, youth may have a chance to choose the field they have talent. A further widely-observed impact is uneducated countries cannot be industrialized and modern. It seems the knowledge of their educated experts can develop countries. For instance, we need educated engineers and specialist workers to build an electric powerhouse or produce a car. In conclusion, poverty and governmental ignoring are the leading causes affecting people's lives and countries development.