Some say that music plays an important role in society while others think it is simply a form of entertainment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Dated back to primitive periods, music has always been a part of human evolution as it was seen as one of the most powerful creations of mankind. In the modern era, music still has impacts on society, while is also regarded by some as mere entertainment. In my opinion, it is undeniable that music has social value in several aspects which will be examined in this essay. On the one hand, music is the pioneer method of communication as it has no limitations of vocabulary or grammar rules. Everyone can understand music from its rhythms and melodies, leading it to become, and be widely accepted as, the universal language of mankind. With no boundaries of understanding, it is consequently used as a tool to learn about other cultures. This may result in cultural exchanges between societies, leading to the perspectives of people being widened. K-Pop music, for instance, is one of the numerous examples of how music is efficiently used to magnify the value of the local culture by being promoted internationally, as well as intensify the relationship of local people in society. This means that it can possibly strengthen both international and local societies as a whole. On the other hand, with modern approaches to social media platforms like TikTok or Instagram, music may easily be produced by non-musicians or amateurs. As a result, the quality of music may be lowered, losing some cultural or aesthetic values. In addition, many music industries nowadays tend to concern about profits, resulting in more concentration on, rather than music, their financial outcomes. This may, accordingly, make music less satisfying to the listeners and appeared to be nothing but entertainment. In conclusion, despite the music being thought of as lacking a role in communities, I still think it also holds the quality of being a universal language. Therefore, music, more or less, can have tremendous effects on people's life by allowing them to learn about other foreign cultures. If music industries could bring back as much as its value, it would definitely be an effective communication tool for society not only on a local scale but also on a global scale.