In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this?

In this present world, there has been an increasing number of companies that put more emphasis on new aspects of products in their advertisements, even though there are not many new features in order to sell more. This essay will illustrate the reasons behind this trend and observe both positive and negative aspects of this situation, and then, later on, mention my opinion. To embark on, one of the main reasons that advertisement highlights new functions more is that since there are so many inventions in the market these days, the companies have to escalate the expression to draw the attention of consumers to get them to choose their creations from lots of other things. The research shows that 80% of people are likely to choose the stuff with mentioning a "new product" or "added feature" compared to the ones without any label on them. Secondly, while customers can get some useful information from ads to highlight new features, which is considered beneficial, there are negative impacts caused by these behaviours. If the advertising comes out very strong, it can misguide people to buy additional things, which might be not necessary for them. Furthermore, buying things that are not necessary can result in over-consuming, which even causes some waste problems and eventually damages the environment, especially for purchasing consumer goods. In conclusion, it is clear that business owners tend to emphasize the new functions of their products in advertising to compete with competitors, while it can result in false advertisement and environmental problems in the long run.