The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent times, many people have a tendency to use social media, which could cause a negative effect on their face to face interaction among them. From my perspective, the merits of this trend exceed the drawbacks. In this essay, there will be reasons for this. In terms of the disadvantages, some people claimed that social platforms cause a bad impact on people’s communication skills. Specifically, some people are really into video games or smartphones’ screens while eating dinner with their family without paying attention to people. As a result, people’s literacy skills or verbal skills could be impractical. Some also say that the Internet has a pessimistic influence on people’s mental health. According to research by Harvard university, research has shown that it can increase feelings of depression and anxiety if a person spends too much time on websites such as Youtube, Netflix or Twitter. In conclusion, people’s emotions could easily be put in a bad mood. Regarding the positive sides, it is true that people can keep in touch together. To be more specific, students studying abroad are able to make video calls with their family by using some applications such as Messenger, Whatsapp or Snapchat. Then, people can expand their relationships on the Internet. Hence, their friend circle interactions would widen. Furthermore, I believe that social media devices are such a powerful tool in marketing and business. In more details, the customer could be served by artificial intelligence. For example, in some steakhouses in Korea, buyers are served by some friendly robots. As a result, buyers are really fond of the service and these restaurants could be full of customers. To sum up, the merits are more significant. Although social media causes several problems related to people’s communication skills and mental health, it allows people to keep in touch and it is good in marketing.