There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measure will be needed. Discuss both sides.

The crime rates have been increasing annually. Some people believe that the best solution to decrease the number of crimes is capital punishment, while others tend to think that other alternatives should be deployed, as everyone makes mistakes. This essay will discuss both arguments and give a conclusion. On the one hand, the majority of people assume that judicial homicide is still one of the most common ways for some breaches. In my opinion, it should be employed only for violations such as murder, terrorist activities and drug trafficking. As these cases cannot be forgiven and such kind of criminals should be pleaded with the death penalty. For example, when an individual sells drugs to another one, they are ruining their lives to earn money, so they turn to drugs and start to attract more clients to this chain. To cite another example, in 2002 the Philippines issued a decree on execution to minimize the number of serious crimes. As a result, crime rates have undergone a decrease of four times. But, several years later, the Philippines recognized that legalized killing is the ultimate violation of the right to life and the state abolished this law on June 24, 2006. On the other hand, others believe that various measures can give help in minimizing the level of serious offences. Moreover, no human has any right to kill someone and take his life as it is regarded as antisocial behaviour.The crime rate is likely to fall if the government takes enough measures. To explain, in Saudi Arabia, offences such as theft are punished by the amputation of the offender's hand and feet rather than killing them. To sum up, considering both views, it can be seen that the way to decline the figures for misconduct by life-threatening punishment is not such a good solution. In my point of view, the most effective way to reduce misdeeds is to implement a policy of zero tolerance.