Littering in cities is an increasing problem which needs to be dealt with. Some people think that steeper fines is the best way to deal with the problem. To what extent do you agree?

These days, living in a technological advancements year, the world has seen an unprecedented increase of littering among many cities. This is not only unsightly but also harmful to the environment and detrimental effect to people ’s health. Many people claim that the best way to handle this issue is to increase fines. I am of the view that, I partly agree with this trend, there are other solutions that should be considered. To begin with, littering in cities is a growing problem that needs to be addressed. First and foremost, having bigger fines can be one effective way to tackle the problem of littering. Furthermore, if governing bodies increase the number of penalties it would be better for people to take the more seriously. For example, nowadays, many cosmopolitan cities have started to increase the penalties day by day for littering to local people. This is because by improving the considerable fines, individuals will think twice before doing it. Having said that, it is important to remember fines alone may not be enough to solve the issue. There are myriad solutions for that trend. One of which the primary reason is governing bodies have to create education and awareness campaigns are also need to help people understand why it is exceptionally important to keep cities clean. By the way, they will know littering is adversely effects not only their health but also our environment. For example, these days the vast majority of people are suffering from wide range of health problems ranging from infections in the airways, heart disease and so on which comes down to the littering. In addition, national government should also consider providing more public trash cans and recycling bins in cities. This is because it would make much easier and more convenient for locals to dispose of their waste properly and reduce the amount of littering. In conclusion, even though imposing of high fines is one way of controlling littering, it is not the only way. In my view,, providing greater access to rubbish cans, and trash cans and creating awareness purposes also the best option would obviously improve the issue of littering in big cities.