Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Work culture has greatly evolved during the past decades. That to say, in today's time transparent offices are promoted at workplaces instead of confined office rooms. Although the advantages of the notion outweigh the disadvantages, both points will be thoroughly discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are a plethora of advantages of having open offices at work. People will remain more active looking at other people working hard. Furthermore, if someone is having a bad day, coworkers will be able to comfort and motivate each other as everything will be transparent. For instance, a scientific survey according to Bloomberg business 2023, says that there was a 42% increase in efficiency among the workers when they were allowed to collaborate and interact in modern office designs which are promoted by companies like Apple, Google, Microsoft and so on. Another benefit worth mentioning is that employers could keep an eye on employees. In simple words, one could make sure that everybody is working or doing some other job. For instance, there are plenty of cases in which employees get lethargic and dishonest with their working habits which could be monitored by their superiors making it an overall transparent environment. Moreover, it will promote group work rather than nuclear work culture. On the contrary, there will be a little issue of privacy, that can not be overlooked. That is, all the employees will be able to watch what is going on with everyone. To conclude, although there are a few disadvantages such as lack of privacy, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages in many forms. Open offices will promote teamwork, and transparency and will keep employees active as they will be looking at everyone working.