Governments give lots of supports to artists, even though some people think it is a waste of money that could have been spent better elsewhere. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Governments in different countries provide financial support to artists. While there are people who agree that government should help artists to promote their work, others will argue, that there are more important problems governments should focus on and use funds to address those issues.In this, essay I will discuss both views and explain why I think that supporting artists is a good idea. Firstly, those who agree that governments should provide financial support to artists believe that support is crucial for keeping art alive. Many famous artists retire after a certain age and stop creating art.The young generation of artists usually can not afford to fund their own projects. For example, the young painter might not have enough money to hire a venue for the exhibition. A beginner for producer can't produce films without the necessary funds for movie production. Government must help those artists to promote their work. Secondly, art is a form of entertainment,which has become a vital part of people's everyday lives. People work long, stressful hours and during their free times they should have access to different types of entertainment to forget about their hectic lifestyles. On the other hand, people will argue that there are more important problems that government should concentrate on rather than funding artists. For example, the government should direct funds to solve recent housing issues, caused by a sudden price rise in housing and by excessive losses of jobs. To conclude, while some people support governments ' sponsoring artists, others believe that money should be spent on solving more important problems that countries might have I believe, that although there are many issues government should focus on, it is important to support artists as they often struggle and need to be promoted, also it is vital for keeping the art in people's lives.