Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather that secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

Bilingual children are very common in society. Some children start learning a foreign language from early childhood or toddler because from a professional view primary school is the golden age for children to learn a foreign language. I will discuss my opinion from a cognitive development perspective.  The advantages of learning a new language at an early age are significant. Firstly, their brain still developing, so children in primary school will understand fast and be more receptive than adults. Secondly, from a cognitive development perspective, they are in a concrete operational stage which means they can have more enthusiasm and curiosity when learning something new. This enthusiasm gets children to participate more in activities and look forward to going to school every day. For example, children who are enthusiastic when learning a new language, will try to sing, write, or read anything about that language. So, they can have a native accent than before. The disadvantage of learning a foreign language at an early age is can be confusing for some children. Especially when their parents not using bilingual language in their home. So, they cannot practice with their parents. For instance, Mario, 4 years old, learn a foreign language in his school, but his parents still use Bahasa in their home. So, he hesitates to speak when talking with his friends. In conclusion, the right time in learning a new language is in primary school for several reasons I mentioned, which is their brains still developing and from a cognitive development view, children have the capability to absorb new words in that stage.