In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Using mobile apps to pay has become more popular in many states. Although making a payment through phones poses security risks, this essay believes that this practice offers more benefits to people because it brings convenience when going out. On the one hand, mobile payment poses security risks. This is because most people use banking or electronic wallets on their phones, thus their bank account data are available within the phones. Thus when people lose their phones, the data are prone to be misused and robbers could hack and drain the victim’s money. For example, villains could breach their phones ’ security PIN and login to their e-wallet account, especially people who set the same PIN for every account. The remaining balance can be transferred to the robber’s account. However, this accident could be prevented by setting different passwords for every important account. On the other hand, various banking and money apps on phones serve convenience when paying for things. This is because most people are bringing their gadgets everywhere and when they go out they do not need to bring their wallets. They can bring fewer things especially when they just travel for short distances. For instance, the Shopee Office in Jakarta is on the 9th floor and the food court is on the 4th floor, their employees can buy their lunches just by paying with their mobile apps. It provides better experiences for them because they already have to carry their water bottles. In conclusion, mobile app payment is gaining popularity in many nations. Even though it possesses risks, this essay thinks that it has greater advantages in promoting convenience in people ’s daily practices.