Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

In recent times, it is inevitable to avoid the usage of plastic due to its widespread circulation despite its harmful nature to our ecosystem. In this essay, I would like to highlight the negative impact of plastic on the environment, and what a government and its citizens can do to resolve the same. To start with, plastic is the most harmful product in the environment because it simply cannot be burnt or decomposed. This is because its chemical composition is so complex that even fire cannot easily wipe those out. To make things worse, manufacturing is simple and cheaper, thereby making it easier to produce and do rapid distribution. As a result, the surge in numbers without getting decomposed to balance it out, ruptures the overall ecosystem. To solve this issue, governments and local councils along with their citizens can create massive awareness campaigns among the public. This is due to the fact that such initiatives help in reducing overall usage by making them understand the repercussions caused by its excessive use. Furthermore, initiatives and research should be done to find out its natural alternatives. For example, startups with go-green initiatives that manufacture organic materials to replace plastics have increased 10 times in the last 25 years, and government can tie up with them to manufacture those on a large scale. To conclude, it is evident that excessive usage of plastic is catastrophic to nature, so promoting the right awareness among the public without governments ceasing a natural alternative to it should always be paramount.