water scarcity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of this? And what solutions can be done by individuals and the government?

In many nations, water rarity has become a vital problem and has resulted negative impacts on every living being due to many different human activities. This essay is to discuss the causes and possible solutions to solve this serious issue. The main causes of water scarcity are water pollution and desertification. In terms of water pollution, humans throw out the garbage (plastics, polythenes, factory waste and chemicals etc) into water resources such as rivers, lakes and oceans, as a result, the amount of drinkable water reduces immensely. For example, in Indonesia, almost all the water reservoirs which were distributing drinkable water are now filled with chemicals and garbage. As a consequence, the government now imports drinkable water bottles spending a large amount of money. On the other hand, deforestation highly affects reducing rainfall, which leads to reduced fresh water. As an example, recent research conducted by the meteorology department in Sri Lanka discovered that the rainfall in the hill country has reduced by 45% in 2020 compared to 1990 due to desertification that happened in the time period. However, authorities and individuals can solve this issue, if they act effectively and immediately. As individuals, we can reduce water pollution by carefully dispose waste, while governments can implement laws against folks who pollute water and the environment. For an instance, the government of Sri Lanka recently revised its laws to mitigate the usage of plastic items by imposing a 500% of tax on companies that use non-recyclable plastics. Also, many individuals use reusable bags nowadays instead of polythene bags for shopping, which highly affects saving nature. Furthermore, to solve the deforestation issue, governments can introduce new tight rules and increase fines on people who destroy forests. To illustrate that, Indian courts punish folks who involve in deforestation with more than 1 million Indian rupees and a minimum of 20 years of prison time. To conclude, water has become a scarcity due to many human activities, and many people suffer from this problem. As responsible citizens and authorities, we should unite and take countermeasures to mitigate this crucial problem immediately.