In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

In recent years, a worrying trend regarding new graduate placement has emerged. In particular, nowadays there are many students who cannot find employment after university. In this essay, a brief explanation of the phenomenon and an opinion on possible solutions will be given. It is undoubtedly true that there are some differences between what the job market is seeking and what most graduates have to offer. In fact, employers are more and more interested in the so-called STEM studies, while the majority of the students attend humanistic courses, which have less work appeal. Consequently, many of them do not find employment for long periods of time, and the few open positions have fierce competition. For instance, in Italy, 60% of the students are enrolled in humanistic courses and half of them are still unemployed two years after graduation. Furthermore, there are some issues in the relations between universities and companies, because most of the colleges do not have strong bounds with the job market, thus incrementing the difficulties for fresh graduates. Nonetheless, there is something that could be done about it. Firstly, students should be encouraged not only to pursue their passions but also to be aware of what the global market is requiring in terms of skills and competencies. Moreover, there should be a better connection between universities and companies, which could help place graduates and increment their knowledge of the needs of the work market. For example, top universities, such as Bocconi University, HEC Paris and others, have gained their positions through their great relations with companies. Finally, students should be taught skills that are basic in today's world, such as coding or the ability to read a balance sheet, regardless of the course of study they are attending. In conclusion, it can be stated that, whereas there are many causes for the unemployment phenomenon of highly qualified people, there are some possible solutions. As stated above, the key to resolving this issue is guaranteeing that graduates have the required skills and better relations with the job market. If these two aspects improve, the graduates could find a workplace.