Some people think that public health within a country can be improved by government making laws regarding nutritious food. Others, however, think that health is a matter of personal choice and responsibility. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that we need to stick to a healthy lifestyle, which helps us stay mentally and physically strong. And the question of whether to establish laws that balance our diet or to leave this decision to society is extremely topical today. I tend to feel that law is one of the strongest ways of making public control their ratio. Firstly, I do accept that giving freedom can help the population to acquire healthier eating habits by themselves, moreover, they would probably follow them willingly without severity. As it is said “the Forbidden fruit is always sweet”. But on the other hand, the poorness of diversity and availability could be seen as well. Having a lack of expensive nutritious food society will rather choose fast semi-finished products. Besides, there is a possibility of having strong allergies for some individuals, as a result nut or citrus allergic will not get enough vitamins and healthy fats for their body. Turning to another viewpoint, most people are law-abiding and it could be a great possibility for the government to improve that sphere among their inhabitants. A good illustration of this is Norway, where junk food in both public and state schools is forbidden. That law helps parents not to worry about their children’s ratios during the day. Above all, the aforementioned availability will probably raise and in contrast obesity in society will instantly decline. To conclude, I do understand the opposing view, which is that health is a matter of personal choice. Nevertheless, I suggest that the pushy method is the quickest and easiest way to achieve public health within a country. Notably, though, I think that needs to be a gradual process, based on careful support rather than sudden demanding law.