Some say that university students must only learn science and technology. While others believe that they should learn what they want. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that only science and technology should be learnt at university, whereas others state that students should choose what they want to learn. Despite the fact that science is the main engine of progress, in my opinion, people should have freedom of choice as the world needs a lot of great specialists in different spheres of life. Nowadays we encounter millions of issues that need to be solved every day by educated specialists. For example, raising a child is a very hot topic and qualified teachers are always in high demand. However, it is not their excellent knowledge of sciences that is appreciated, but rather more practical skills like communicating and motivating children. That is why I am sure that students should be able to choose their major as competent people are needed in many aspects of life. On the other hand, there is an opinion that only science and technology are worth studying. The progress and development of our civilization hinge on these two fields of study. If science, for instance, was not the main priority, humankind would probably have died out because of some lethal diseases. Nevertheless, even if people could survive without arts and literature, these “not so important” subjects can improve and even change one’s life completely. To conclude, while technology and science are essential for our planet, all the disciplines are worth studying as people need professionals in everyday life. Students should be able to choose their way and make the world around them more organized and diverse.